Peonies on synthetic paper

In an experimental mood a while ago, I acquired some synthetic paper, Yupo. It is a brilliant white and very smooth but I found it saturated almost instantly and would not accept colour. I could not build up layers of deep or brilliant colour on it and gave up on the stuff after several tries. The best colour I managed was with Inktense by Derwent. I had in the back of my mind that if I used a particularly vivid colour for a very pale and delicately coloured flower, it might just work. Well, I did  the experiment and here are the results:

Inktense on Yupo, approx 9 x 12 in, 2011.
Inktense on yupo, approx 9 x 12 in, 2011.
Published by

Trish Murphy

Artist: botanical, still life, and natural history illustration. Garden designer: native plants and naturalistic gardens